top of page
Search

The Farm .... my daughter...

Updated: Mar 19, 2021

Hey all, I thought I'd share this. My daughter was my partner in arranging and tending the flowers here at the farm. When I lost her 2+ years ago to cancer I stopped creating. This Spring I opened back up and am again sharing all of the farm's beauty with people here in the Flathead Valley. Now that spring is on the cusp of arriving, I had a particularly rough day, it happens sometimes. Here's some thoughts...


Kelsey loved Spring--She used to call me and say "Mom! My babies are waking up!" Then she would send me pictures of hyacinth, pasque, iris and whatever was nosing its way to the sun. She would dig bare handed in the garden, talking about life's random things, her dreams and how to make the world more beautiful. I watched as she saved scraggly rose bushes, pull weeds from between rocks and transplanted ferns all to create and surround herself with her own sense of beauty. One of the first signs that the cancer would win was when her gardens fell neglected. She no longer focused on them, she would forget to look and eventually she couldn't or didn't remember to go out at all. I would come to help her put them together again but like Humpty -Dumpty--"All the King's Horses" couldn't put the pieces that were being taken by the cancer back again.


So, it's Spring again here at "the farm".....and as I do, I clean and tend and welcome the "babies" to the light as they emerge from their winter sleep. Kels would love hearing about it. What is awake, what is spreading, what to add to make the world more beautiful. The flowers at my farm are a kind of tribute to the spirit of all of life that pushes through to welcome the light.


This year, after so much darkness Kels would have loved knowing the place that was created to share beauty with her and others in the world will continue to grow and remind us all that "We Got This"


.....Look Kels....the babies are waking up....


Thank you for sharing the light of the garden with me. Hugs, Betsy


15 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page